The J. Edgar Hoover Foundation The J. Edgar Hoover Foundation - Keeping the Legacy Alive
The Directors of the J. Edgar Hoover Foundation have resolved that the ends of justice require that the Foundation be dissolved hereafter. The stated purpose of the Foundation has been successfully adhered to and faithfully followed over the past 55 years of its existence. This website exists for educational and historical purposes only.
The J. Edgar Hoover Foundation

The J. Edgar Hoover Foundation Scholarships

The J. Edgar Hoover Foundation Scholarships

Since the founding of The J.Edgar Hoover Foundation, over $3,500,000 has been distributed for scholarships, grants for education, as well as legal and professional law enforcement training.

The Foundation has endowed selected organizations with significant gifts totaling nearly $1,000,000 for the purpose of awarding scholarships and grants to selected college and university students, pursing undergraduate and graduate degrees. These scholarships are presented based on a combination of merit and need, including individuals who may not have an opportunity for higher education. Many recipients are pursuing degrees in law and law enforcement related studies. The J. Edgar Hoover Foundation has awarded many scholarships to the sons and daughters of special agents of the FBI, as well as state and local law enforcement officers.

The Foundation continues to support scholarships annually. Starting in 2016, the Foundation began offering its scholarships through endowments to selected organizations. Each endowed organization awards the J. Edgar Hoover Foundation Leadership Scholarship to deserving candidates. This award is conferred based on a candidate’s interest in pursing a forensic science related career in law enforcement. Each organization solicits candidates and reviews them, then selects deserving recipients for the award. Please contact the endowed organizations below to learn more about applying for the scholarship and see the Endowments page for more information.

The following organizations have been endowed by the Foundation, for the purpose of awarding the J. Edgar Hoover Foundation Leadership Scholarship (2016 - Present)

  • John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Forensic Science
  • Pennsylvania State University, Eberly College of Science/Forensic Science
  • San José State University
  • Society of Former Special Agents of the FBI Foundation
  • University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice
  • University of Cincinnati, School of Criminal Justice
  • University of Maryland, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
  • West Virgina University, Forensic Science

Prior Winners of the J. Edgar Hoover Foundation's Scientific Scholarship (this program was in effect from 2001-2015 and over $250,000 was awarded)

  • 2015 - Gina M. Dembinski, Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
  • 2014 - David Preston Miller, Marshall University
  • 2013 - Andrew Koutrakos, University of New Haven
  • 2012 - John McIlroy, Michigan State University
  • 2011 - Jessica Placido, Saint John’s University
  • 2010 - Shannon Bell, The University of California at San Francisco School of Medicine
  • 2009 - Jessica Nelson, George Washington University
  • 2008 - Alejandra Ramirez, California State University
  • 2007 - Michael Bukys PhD, Cleveland State University
  • 2006 - Douglas Jackson, University of Georgia
  • 2005 - Emily Ross, George Washington University
  • 2004 - Gina Badalato, Columbia University
  • 2003 - Erin Hurley, Stetson University
  • 2002 - Kristy Reynolds, University of Maryland
  • 2001 - Sandra Bishop, Ohio University

Prior Winners of the Cartha "Deke" DeLoach Forensic Scholarship Award

  • 2015 - Alison G. Simon, Florida International University
  • 2014 - Barbara L. Fallon, Michigan State University
  • 2013 - Kayleigh Rowan, Boston University School of Medicine   |   © 2011-2020 The J. Edgar Hoover Foundation
Web Site Development by InteroTech, LLC